Indian Journal of Pharmacology Home 

SHORT COMMUNICATION
[View FULLTEXT] [Download PDF]
Year : 2017  |  Volume : 49  |  Issue : 5  |  Page : 401--404

Are your capsules vegetarian or nonvegetarian: An ethical and scientific justification

Ajay Prakash, Hariom Soni, Abhishek Mishra, Phulen Sarma 
 Department of Pharmacology, PGIMER, Chandigarh, India

Correspondence Address:
Dr. Phulen Sarma
Department of Pharmacology, PGIMER, Chandigarh
India

Capsules are important component of day to day health management. But recently an issue came up whether the capsule you are using is of vegetarian or non-vegetarian origin. Capsule shell can be divided into vegetarian and non-vegetarian origin on the basis of their origin. Gelatin capsule shell are typically of animal origin and HPMC or starch based shells are of vegetarian origin. CDSCO received one proposal to replace all non veg capsule with capsule of vegetarian origin. CDSCO has invited comments from different stakeholders regarding this. So, in this editorial, we are addressing different issues lying behind veg and non-veg capsules and scientific justification of the same.


How to cite this article:
Prakash A, Soni H, Mishra A, Sarma P. Are your capsules vegetarian or nonvegetarian: An ethical and scientific justification.Indian J Pharmacol 2017;49:401-404


How to cite this URL:
Prakash A, Soni H, Mishra A, Sarma P. Are your capsules vegetarian or nonvegetarian: An ethical and scientific justification. Indian J Pharmacol [serial online] 2017 [cited 2020 Oct 28 ];49:401-404
Available from: https://www.ijp-online.com/article.asp?issn=0253-7613;year=2017;volume=49;issue=5;spage=401;epage=404;aulast=Prakash;type=0