IPSIndian Journal of Pharmacology
Home  IPS  Feedback Subscribe Top cited articles Login 
Users Online : 468 
Small font sizeDefault font sizeIncrease font size
Navigate Here
 »   Next article
 »   Previous article
 »   Table of Contents

Resource Links
 »   Similar in PUBMED
 »  Search Pubmed for
 »  Search in Google Scholar for
 »Related articles
 »   Citation Manager
 »   Access Statistics
 »   Reader Comments
 »   Email Alert *
 »   Add to My List *
 * Requires registration (Free)
 

 Article Access Statistics
    Viewed1385    
    Printed40    
    Emailed0    
    PDF Downloaded130    
    Comments [Add]    

Recommend this journal

 

 SHORT COMMUNICATION
Year : 2017  |  Volume : 49  |  Issue : 5  |  Page : 401-404

Are your capsules vegetarian or nonvegetarian: An ethical and scientific justification


Department of Pharmacology, PGIMER, Chandigarh, India

Correspondence Address:
Dr. Phulen Sarma
Department of Pharmacology, PGIMER, Chandigarh
India
Login to access the Email id

Source of Support: None, Conflict of Interest: None


DOI: 10.4103/ijp.IJP_409_17

Rights and Permissions

Capsules are important component of day to day health management. But recently an issue came up whether the capsule you are using is of vegetarian or non-vegetarian origin. Capsule shell can be divided into vegetarian and non-vegetarian origin on the basis of their origin. Gelatin capsule shell are typically of animal origin and HPMC or starch based shells are of vegetarian origin. CDSCO received one proposal to replace all non veg capsule with capsule of vegetarian origin. CDSCO has invited comments from different stakeholders regarding this. So, in this editorial, we are addressing different issues lying behind veg and non-veg capsules and scientific justification of the same.






[FULL TEXT] [PDF]*


        
Print this article     Email this article

Site Map | Home | Contact Us | Feedback | Copyright and Disclaimer
Online since 20th July '04
Published by Wolters Kluwer - Medknow